Implant, Ray Clark

implant

About the Book

Bramfield, near Leeds, a sleepy little market town nestled on the borders of West and North Yorkshire. Detectives Stewart Gardener and Sean Reilly discover the naked corpse of Alex Wilson, nailed to the wall of a cellar in his uncle’s hardware store. His lips are sewn together and his body bears only one mark, a fresh scar near his abdomen.

Within forty-eight hours, their investigation results in dead ends, more victims, no suspects and very little in the way of solid evidence. Gardener and Reilly have a problem and a question on their hands: are the residents of Bramfield prepared for one of history’s most sadistic killers, The Tooth Fairy?

Implant is the perfect read for fans of Peter May, Mark Billingham and Peter James.

Book info:

Publication Day: 9th August 2018
Publisher: Urbane Publications
ISBN: 978-1911583981
Pages: 376
Category: Fiction, Genre: Thriller / Crime / Psychological

Buying links:

Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/2HzlTAL
Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2jceVY2
Foyles: http://bit.ly/2JDHFnQ
Waterstones: http://bit.ly/2FpKPJ6

My Review

I wanted to review Implant because it was set near Leeds (In the fictional town of Bramfield) and I haven’t heard of the author before. The blurb also said that this book was the perfect read for fans of Peter James, Mark Billingham and Peter May, so I felt this was a novel I’d personally enjoy reading. I wasn’t disappointed, Implant is well written and fast paced.  I was aware this was the third in the series, but it worked well for me as a standalone.  I didn’t feel lost at any point or confused by what had happened previously.  There are also plenty of plot twists and turns throughout the story to keep the reader hooked and the chapters are short, so it’s easy to read on. I think this is the kind of novel you get more from if you can read it in a couple of sittings at the most.  The characterisation is excellent, Gardener and Reilly had great dialogue between them and both felt very real and there’s plenty of dry humour along the way, the novel feels confidently plotted and written with a strong voice. The story itself is very intriguing – there’s a sadistic killer and very little evidence for Gardiners team to follow.

This is an enjoyable read and I’d highly recommend it and I will read the rest of the novels in this series.

 

About the author

 

The British Fantasy Society published Ray Clark’s first work in 1995 – Manitou Man: The World of Graham Masterton, was nominated for both the World and British Fantasy Awards. In 2009, Ray’s short story, Promises To Keep, made the final shortlist for the best short story award from The Tom Howard Foundation. Ray is based in Goole, and has set his Gardener and Reilly crime series in nearby Leeds.

Social Media links:

Website: http://www.thelordofmisrule.net/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/T1LOM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: