The Soldier’s Girl, Sharon Maas

The soldiers girl

About the Book

France 1944 and the streets are filled with swastikas. The story of a brave English girl behind enemy lines, a German soldier, and a terrible sacrifice…

When young English nurse Sibyl Lake is recruited as a spy to support the French resistance, she doesn’t realise the ultimate price she will end up paying. She arrives in Colmar, a French town surrounded by vineyards and swarming with German soldiers, but her fear is dampened by the joy of being reunited with her childhood sweetheart Jacques.

Sibyl’s arrival has not gone unnoticed by Commander Wolfgang von Haagan and she realises that letting him get closer is her best chance of learning enemy secrets. Yet despite her best intentions, Sibyl soon finds that betrayal does not come easy to her.

When Jacques finds that Sibyl is involved with the enemy, he is determined to prove himself to her with one last act of heroism. An act that will put all of their lives in terrible danger…

A beautifully written, heart-wrenching and unforgettable tale of love and loss in a time of war. Perfect for fans of The Letter by Kathryn Hughes and The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah.

My Review

From looking at the cover of this book I wanted to read it and I was not disappointed. This is a well researched enjoyable World War Two novel.  As soon as I started reading this book I was hooked from the prologue and didn’t want to put it down and it just gets better from there. Its well written and well plotted.  I felt like I was on an emotional rollercoaster form start to finish.  I’ll definitely be reading more from Maas. This is a gripping story that all fans of historical fiction and romance will love.  I found myself guessing and trying to work out what would happen which is something I enjoy in a book. This is a highly recommended read from me.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: