Ruthless by Charlie Gallacher

51Adx9YQ37L._SY346_

RUTHLESS by CHARLIE GALLAGHER

 

What would you do to survive in a world of ruthless criminals and drug dealers? Decide for yourself in this gripping and gritty thriller. Written by a best-selling serving police detective.

This is Rhiannon’s story. She thinks she’s a good person but to stay alive in a very violent world she will be tested to the limit.

Will Dryden wakes to discover his girlfriend Janey is dead from an overdose. Without his friend and partner in crime, he has nothing left to lose.

Meanwhile, police are called to the scene of a car accident – date night gone tragically wrong for Melissa Cooper – and left to break the news to Mel’s teenage niece, Rhiannon. For Rhiannon, it’s a devastating loss. Now she’s on her own.

Will and Rhiannon’s paths cross. Rhiannon gets sucked into the world of the drug dealers and falls into the sights of Aaron – the gang leader. He has a point to prove and is unhappy that he isn’t getting the respect he wants. Aaron takes brutal revenge when the police start to close in on him.

Can Rhiannon stay alive and save herself and Will from the murderous Aaron? Who is ruthless enough to survive?

This pulsating crime thriller takes you on an adrenaline-packed ride with a shocking end.

Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Mark Billingham.

THE AUTHOR
Charlie Gallagher has been a serving UK police officer for ten years. During that time he has had many roles, starting as a front-line response officer, then a member of a specialist tactical team and is currently a detective investigating serious offences.

ALSO BY CHARLIE GALLAGHER
MISSING

LANGTHORNE POLICE SERIES
Book 1: BODILY HARM
Book 2: PANIC BUTTON
Book 3: BLOOD MONEY
Book 4: END GAME
www.writercharliegallagher.com/

My Review

I’ve read a couple of Gallagher’s novels before as they feel very authentic and full of great police procedure. They’re written by a serving police officer and it shows. This novel is a standalone and a breath of fresh air.  It’s pacey and action packed. The opening chapter pulls the reader straight in and I found myself wanting to know more about Janey and who supplied her with the heroin.  The author does a great job of evoking this scene and it feels gritty and believable. What I liked most about this novel is that it’s centred more on the civilians caught up in the action rather than the police officers – I think that makes a nice change.  The author utilises short chapters and lots of action which makes the novel hard to put down and it builds to an exciting climax with an enjoyable ending.  I’d highly recommend Ruthless and I’ll be reading more from this author.

***** stars

 

Book Review FLASHPOINT

FLASHPOINT

Do you love gripping espionage thrillers full of great twists and plenty of action?

Meet Thomas Bladen. Smart, sardonic, and in mortal danger.

LONDON COMES UNDER ATTACK AND BLADEN’S LIFE IS FALLING APART.

As the security services scramble to deal with the aftermath of a coordinated terror attack, undercover operative Thomas Bladen is in deep trouble. His department is taken over by MI5, his girlfriend’s gone, and he’s “lost” a handgun during surveillance of a politician.

Then two of his senior colleagues disappear. Who’s taken them and why? Bladen’s search for answers is blocked at every turn. Is there a double agent in his team?

In a thrilling conclusion, Bladen must face his doubts and put his life at risk against forces whose allegiance is unclear. This is the reckoning.

If you like Mark Dawson, Rob Sinclair, Lee Child, or Vince Flynnyou’ll enjoy these fast-paced thrillers.

What people are saying about Derek Thompson’s books

“Complex and full of twists and turns, this is a very good thriller which keeps the reader on tenterhooks throughout.” Ann Stanmore

“Kept me up far too late at night.” Gemma Donnelly

“Gripping and unputdownable.” Bsms585

“One of the best spy thrillers I’ve read in a long time.” Lacancan

“Good read for anyone who enjoys a thriller that will keep them hooked from start to finish.” Jfaulknercourt

“Couldn’t put the book down ….brilliant characters…storyline excellent.” Kay Broome

“Very good, gripping story.” Yorkypud

THOMAS BLADEN SERIES
Book 1: STANDPOINT
Book 2: LINE OF SIGHT
Book 3: CAUSE & EFFECT
Book 4: SHADOW STATE
Book 5: FLASHPOINT

 FLASHPOINT My Review

This is a great read with an interesting premise which I felt was well researched by the author. I read this book in one sitting which is something that I don’t do often. Flashpoint works well as a standalone. I haven’t read any of the others but I think I would’ve got more from this book if I had.

This story deals with a terrorist attack in London and I felt the author tackles this with a lot of authenticity.  There are a lot of twists in the story so it feels taught throughout.  There’s a good balance between the man protagonist, Thomas’s personal life and work life which I enjoyed.

I’ll definitely be looking for more from this author in the future.

**** Stars

Derek+Thompson

DARK ANGEL

thumbnail_DARK ANGEL cover jpg

DARK ANGEL by HELEN H. DURRANT

Love gripping crime fiction? Discover Detective Stephen Greco, a meticulous policeman with a messy personal life.

Two young men break into an expensive house in Cheshire. They take money and jewellery — and a large amount of heroin. Within twenty-four hours they are found brutally murdered.

The killings have the hallmarks of a local drug baron. The two victims were also “angels” helping in a community project which seems to have been lowering the crime rate in the area.

Meanwhile, Detective Stephen Greco’s colleague and on-off girlfriend Grace is pregnant. He isn’t sure how he feels, and they haven’t told the boss.

This gripping and fast-paced crime mystery ends with a series of shocking twists.

If you like Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, Mel Sherratt, Ruth Rendell, or Mark Billingham you will enjoy this exciting new crime fiction writer.

THE DETECTIVES
DCI Stephen Greco is a meticulous policeman with a touch of O.C.D. Easy to admire, but difficult to like. He has created a new team after a personal tragedy threatened to end his career, and is struggling to care for his daughter.
DS Grace Harper is an ambitious young policewoman with excellent people skills. Like Greco, she is a single parent and tries to balance work and childcare.

THE SETTING
The Northern city of Manchester is a place of great diversity, from high-end restaurants and clubs for the moneyed classes to grim housing estates riven by crime and drugs.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY SERIES BY THE BEST-SELLING WRITER HELEN H. DURRANT

DCI GRECO
Book 1: DARK MURDER
Book 2: DARK HOUSES
Book 3: DARK TRADE
Book 4: DARK ANGEL

CALLADINE & BAYLISS 
Book 1: DEAD WRONG
Book 2: DEAD SILENT
Book 3: DEAD LIST
Book 4: DEAD LOST
Book 5: DEAD & BURIED
Book 6: DEAD NASTY
Book 7: DEAD JEALOUS

TALBOT DYSON
HIS THIRD VICTIM

AUTHOR BIO

Helen sets her books in the area she has lived in for many years. The towns and villages that sit in the shelter of the Pennine hills. This is an area between two counties, Lancashire and Yorkshire, and between the city and the hills. It offers a rich mix of the industrial and the countryside and all the character therein.

Helen always planned to write crime novels. But until she retired from full-time work in a local further education college, it had to go on the back burner. Once she did retire – there was no excuse. She now writes full-time. Retirement proper will have to wait!

Currently there are seven books in the ‘Calladine & Bayliss’ series available – Dead Wrong, Dead Silent, Dead List, Dead Lost, Dead & Buried, Dead Nasty – and the latest – Dead Jealous.

Also available are three books in the new ‘DI Greco’ series – Dark Murder, Dark Houses,Dark Trade  and the latest – Dark Angel.

 

 Helen Durrant author pic

LINKS

Website: www.helenhdurrant.co.uk

Twitter: @hhdurrant

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/helen.durrant.12

MY REVIEW 

There’s a lot to like about this police procedural from Helen H. Durrant.

‘Dark Angel’ is part of the DI Greco series but it works well as a standalone also.  Although, if you’re coming to this novel new it might be worth catching the others in the series otherwise you’ll miss some character backstories but I haven’t read them all nor did I find this much of an issue.

Helen also does a good job of getting the reader hooked straight away, opening with a gritty prologue set five months prior to the main narrative.  The opening chapter is again, action-packed when were faced with a mysterious robbery and blackmail scenario.  D.I Greco from serious crime division is tasked with investigating this case.  Greco is an interesting character and not the typical ‘cop’ you often see in a police procedural. I like the fact that he has a very full and interesting personal life and that his sort of girlfriend/co-worker is pregnant and he’s not feeling as positive about it as she is.

The author also does a nice job of tying up all the loose ends while setting up for the next novel in the series. I’d be interested to read more from this author in the future.

 

I’d rate this novel ****

 

Reviewed Books.

If you would like me to review a book please contact me for availability.

 

NON FICTION

The Real CSI: A Forensic Handbook for Crime Writers KATE BENDELOW

Who is allowed access to a crime scene? What happens when a body is discovered? Will a blood transfusion alter DNA? How can the distribution of gunshot residue inform your plot? The Real CIS – A Forensic Handbook for Crime Writers answers these questions and more in a unique and exclusive insight into crime scene investigation. Using real-life examples and case studies, experienced CSI Kate Bendelow shines a light behind the yellow tape and debunks the myths popularized by the ‘CSI Effect’. Each chapter explores the latest procedures in contemporary practice including: Crime Scene access and preservation; fingerprints and DNA profiling; footwear; trace evidence; fire scenes; drugs and toxicology and, finally, firearms. Packed with insider knowledge, handy tips and compelling storylines, this is the definitive guide for all crime writers who wish to write with authenticity and authority.”Every crime writer should have a copy of this book on their desk.” Lynda La Plante. Illustrated with 59 colour images.

 

FICTION

Dark Angel, Helen H. Durrant.

FLASHPOINT, Derek Thompson

RUTHLESS, Charlie Gallacher.