Ruthless by Charlie Gallacher

51Adx9YQ37L._SY346_

RUTHLESS by CHARLIE GALLAGHER

 

What would you do to survive in a world of ruthless criminals and drug dealers? Decide for yourself in this gripping and gritty thriller. Written by a best-selling serving police detective.

This is Rhiannon’s story. She thinks she’s a good person but to stay alive in a very violent world she will be tested to the limit.

Will Dryden wakes to discover his girlfriend Janey is dead from an overdose. Without his friend and partner in crime, he has nothing left to lose.

Meanwhile, police are called to the scene of a car accident – date night gone tragically wrong for Melissa Cooper – and left to break the news to Mel’s teenage niece, Rhiannon. For Rhiannon, it’s a devastating loss. Now she’s on her own.

Will and Rhiannon’s paths cross. Rhiannon gets sucked into the world of the drug dealers and falls into the sights of Aaron – the gang leader. He has a point to prove and is unhappy that he isn’t getting the respect he wants. Aaron takes brutal revenge when the police start to close in on him.

Can Rhiannon stay alive and save herself and Will from the murderous Aaron? Who is ruthless enough to survive?

This pulsating crime thriller takes you on an adrenaline-packed ride with a shocking end.

Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Mark Billingham.

THE AUTHOR
Charlie Gallagher has been a serving UK police officer for ten years. During that time he has had many roles, starting as a front-line response officer, then a member of a specialist tactical team and is currently a detective investigating serious offences.

ALSO BY CHARLIE GALLAGHER
MISSING

LANGTHORNE POLICE SERIES
Book 1: BODILY HARM
Book 2: PANIC BUTTON
Book 3: BLOOD MONEY
Book 4: END GAME
www.writercharliegallagher.com/

My Review

I’ve read a couple of Gallagher’s novels before as they feel very authentic and full of great police procedure. They’re written by a serving police officer and it shows. This novel is a standalone and a breath of fresh air.  It’s pacey and action packed. The opening chapter pulls the reader straight in and I found myself wanting to know more about Janey and who supplied her with the heroin.  The author does a great job of evoking this scene and it feels gritty and believable. What I liked most about this novel is that it’s centred more on the civilians caught up in the action rather than the police officers – I think that makes a nice change.  The author utilises short chapters and lots of action which makes the novel hard to put down and it builds to an exciting climax with an enjoyable ending.  I’d highly recommend Ruthless and I’ll be reading more from this author.

***** stars

 

Book Review FLASHPOINT

FLASHPOINT

Do you love gripping espionage thrillers full of great twists and plenty of action?

Meet Thomas Bladen. Smart, sardonic, and in mortal danger.

LONDON COMES UNDER ATTACK AND BLADEN’S LIFE IS FALLING APART.

As the security services scramble to deal with the aftermath of a coordinated terror attack, undercover operative Thomas Bladen is in deep trouble. His department is taken over by MI5, his girlfriend’s gone, and he’s “lost” a handgun during surveillance of a politician.

Then two of his senior colleagues disappear. Who’s taken them and why? Bladen’s search for answers is blocked at every turn. Is there a double agent in his team?

In a thrilling conclusion, Bladen must face his doubts and put his life at risk against forces whose allegiance is unclear. This is the reckoning.

If you like Mark Dawson, Rob Sinclair, Lee Child, or Vince Flynnyou’ll enjoy these fast-paced thrillers.

What people are saying about Derek Thompson’s books

“Complex and full of twists and turns, this is a very good thriller which keeps the reader on tenterhooks throughout.” Ann Stanmore

“Kept me up far too late at night.” Gemma Donnelly

“Gripping and unputdownable.” Bsms585

“One of the best spy thrillers I’ve read in a long time.” Lacancan

“Good read for anyone who enjoys a thriller that will keep them hooked from start to finish.” Jfaulknercourt

“Couldn’t put the book down ….brilliant characters…storyline excellent.” Kay Broome

“Very good, gripping story.” Yorkypud

THOMAS BLADEN SERIES
Book 1: STANDPOINT
Book 2: LINE OF SIGHT
Book 3: CAUSE & EFFECT
Book 4: SHADOW STATE
Book 5: FLASHPOINT

 FLASHPOINT My Review

This is a great read with an interesting premise which I felt was well researched by the author. I read this book in one sitting which is something that I don’t do often. Flashpoint works well as a standalone. I haven’t read any of the others but I think I would’ve got more from this book if I had.

This story deals with a terrorist attack in London and I felt the author tackles this with a lot of authenticity.  There are a lot of twists in the story so it feels taught throughout.  There’s a good balance between the man protagonist, Thomas’s personal life and work life which I enjoyed.

I’ll definitely be looking for more from this author in the future.

**** Stars

Derek+Thompson

Reviewed Books.

If you would like me to review a book please contact me for availability.

 

NON FICTION

The Real CSI: A Forensic Handbook for Crime Writers KATE BENDELOW

Who is allowed access to a crime scene? What happens when a body is discovered? Will a blood transfusion alter DNA? How can the distribution of gunshot residue inform your plot? The Real CIS – A Forensic Handbook for Crime Writers answers these questions and more in a unique and exclusive insight into crime scene investigation. Using real-life examples and case studies, experienced CSI Kate Bendelow shines a light behind the yellow tape and debunks the myths popularized by the ‘CSI Effect’. Each chapter explores the latest procedures in contemporary practice including: Crime Scene access and preservation; fingerprints and DNA profiling; footwear; trace evidence; fire scenes; drugs and toxicology and, finally, firearms. Packed with insider knowledge, handy tips and compelling storylines, this is the definitive guide for all crime writers who wish to write with authenticity and authority.”Every crime writer should have a copy of this book on their desk.” Lynda La Plante. Illustrated with 59 colour images.

 

FICTION

Dark Angel, Helen H. Durrant.

FLASHPOINT, Derek Thompson

RUTHLESS, Charlie Gallacher.